Women and Girls Lead, Live from the 92nd Street Y

Posted on September 20, 2011

Last week, ITVS announced the roll-out of major national PBS broadcasts for its Women and Girls Lead campaign. The three-year public media initiative will educate, focus, and connect viewers with more than 50 acclaimed documentaries. 

Now, the campaign is off and running with several high profile events taking place this week in New York City. Here, BTB reports live on the ground from the 92nd Street Y for a panel discussion on the initiative (12:30pm PT / 3:30pm ET) and a keynote speech from one of the campaign's strongest advocates, Academy Award winning actor Geena Davis (10:30am PT / 1:30pm ET).

Topics

From our blog

  1. ITVS Launches NEH-supported $1.7 Million Fellowship for Independent Filmmakers and Advisors Working in the Humanities

    October 5, 2021

    How can supporting a diverse cohort of 20 filmmakers for one year bring new perspectives to documentary filmmaking and the humanities?

  2. ITVS and Independent Lens Filmmakers Honored with 2021 News & Documentary Emmy Awards

    September 29, 2021

    PBS’s award-winning documentary anthology series Independent Lens, in association with ITVS, today announced films released under its banner have been honored with two News and Documentary Emmy® Awards by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).We are so pleased to salute the producers of these documentaries, which aired on

  3. Wrapping Up 2021 Independents Summit: What Does "Now" Look Like for Doc Makers

    September 2, 2021

    ITVS robust 2021 edition of its Independents Summit was jam-packed with panels of ITVS-funded filmmakers, industry partners, PBS reps, and thought leaders asking, What does "now" look like for documentary makers in a rapidly changing media landscape? Read on for our recap.